The End is Near: Final Mooks of 2012

When I think back to one year ago, it is hard to believe the spark for Mookology was just beginning to ignite.  Nearly 2,500 followers later, Mookology’s one year anniversary is well on its way along with a number of incredible mooks I know you are all looking forward to.  Closing out the year are two of the most highly anticipated mooks of the decade: “The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2,” which will blow up theaters across the nation on November 16th, followed by (and likely surpassed by) “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” on December 14th.  Both of these mooks are the heart of large fan bases who are, undoubtedly, eager to see these stories come to life.

Aside from these fantasy series adaptations which are bound to be record breaking releases, there are a few mooks I am very anxious to see.  The adaptation of David Mitchell’s “Cloud Atlas” debuts on October 26th, with a promising cast and lots of potential.  Toronto Film Festival favorite, “The Silver Lining’s Playbook” will be released in theaters on November 21st along with the adaptation for the award-winning “Life of Pi.”

Classic literature will also take the screen before the years end.  The 2012 adaptation for “Anna Karenina” will also make its way to the silver screen in November, but is likely to be ousted from the top spot by the Twilight franchise.  Jack Kerouac’s “On the Road” adaptation is another mook that is sure to bring in viewers, starring actress of Twilight fame, Kristen Stewart.  Tom Hooper’s adaptation of “Les Miserables” will officially bring 2012 to its close with it’s Christmas debut.

Of course, 2013 will not shy away from adaptations as there are many eagerly anticipated mooks to be released.  Baz Luhrmann’s “The Great Gatsby,” starring Leonardo DiCaprio as the novels’ namesake, is set for a release date of May 10th after being pushed back from its December 2012 release.  “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” is also lined up for release in November 2013, a mook with a very large fan base, however tween fantasy romance “Beautiful Creatures” might give The Hunger Games a run for its money debuting in February of 2013.   L. Frank Baum’s The Wizard of Oz gets a fresh take with Sam Raimi’s “Oz: The Great and Powerful”, while Stephen King’s psycho-thriller remake “Carrie” gets a fresh face with Chloe Moretz as the disturbed lead role, both set to release in March.

The year to come will have no shortage of mooks, that much is clear, and announcements for new adaptations are being made rapidly.  Two very popular young adult series’, Veronica Roth’s “Divergent” and Cassandra Clare’s “The Mortal Instruments,” are both slated for adaptations and are being both cast and filmed as of the moment.  What mooks are you most looking forward to seeing?  Which books would you love to see made into mooks?  Leave your comments below and keep on reading!

18 thoughts on “The End is Near: Final Mooks of 2012

  1. I’m really looking forward to The Hobbit, Great Gatsby and Carrie! Also looking forward to seeing Divergent come to life. Can’t wait to read your reviews for all of these!

      • I wasn’t a huge fan of either, and only started reading it because so many people compared it to or said it was better than The Hunger Games (I still don’t know what they were thinking…). But I couldn’t stop reading once I got started! I guess I just wanted to know how it was going to end. I’m interested in seeing who they cast.

  2. I love this idea for a blog! I love to read and I love movies that are based on books. So Brilliant! I am a huge fan of the LOTR movies and I’m really looking forward to The Hobbit. If I could have anything I wanted to I would probably love to see Peter Jackson make The Belgariad.

  3. The critical reviews of Cloud Atlas have diluted my interest. I will say that the mook I was most excited about for 2012 was The Hunger Games. I easily spotted book and film differences, such as the Avox girl, but understood they were not critical to the plot.

    I eagerly await Catching Fire in 2013, but I cannot say the other mooks in your list catch my fancy at the moment. Perhaps if I read more of your posts I can be persuaded.

  4. I am so much looking forward to The Great Gatsby. I just read the book during summer and it was devastating! I watched the trailer maybe 482929374 times and I could still watch it over and over again. The cast fits perfectly to the story, Leo, Tobey and Carey are simply made for their characters. I already love the soundtrack, from Jack White! AMAZING! I am so looking forward to this movie! My personal favorite movie for 2013.
    Furthermore I am really interested in the wizard of oz and The Hobbit.

  5. Great blog! There are so many books I would like to see made into movies, but at the same time I would be terrified of them ruining it! Like they did with the Golden Compass. Fantastic books, terrible the one film they did.
    My Ultimate book to film I think would be the Artimis Fowl collection. Action, fairies, underground caverns, space ships. Doesn’t get better than that!

  6. like your blog. Movies that are developed from books are really as long as they do not move away from the story-line. It must be hard to film it scene by exactly but directors need to know that they cannot change whatever they don’t like. Huge exaple would be “Harry Potter”.

  7. Hi Alyssa, I just recently discovered your blog, and love the idea behind mookology! Just one question: how do you say “mook”? Does it rhyme with book or movie? I read Cloud Atlas after seeing the movie trailer, but then (ironically) lost any desire to see the movie. Last time something like that happened, I read a review of the movie Smilla’s Sense of Snow and it inspired me to read the book! I’m looking forward to The Hobbit, Oz, and a few of the other upcoming mooks!

  8. I am often torn with the adaptation of my favourite books to movies. I couldn’t finish Life of Pi, but the movie looks luscious and captivating and definitely looking forward to seeing it. Have just seen the Hobbit and now re-reading the book. Loved the storyline and the interpretation was interesting, not sure if Jackson has drawn on other Tolkein writings. I found the film quality (3D) very strange/odd/different though, particularly the Shire part – but classy actors and great SFX.

Leave a Reply

