The Mook List – #7

THE MOOK LIST – #7

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Movie, Willy Wonka, Gene Wilder

via Wikipedia.org

Why it worked: “Come with me and you’ll be in a world of pure imagination…”  There is no denying that the Mel Stuart-directed “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” musical is a classic childhood movie.  From “Cheer Up Charlie” to “Pure Imagination” to the Oompa Loompa songs that you will never forget, Stuart created a very magical film that impacted the lives of all who watched.  I, personally, loved Gene Wilder in this (I also thought my Dad looked exactly like him which was super exciting) and couldn’t get enough of this movie.  I have probably seen it over 20 times due to repeats on ABC Family and have the soundtrack on vinyl (obsessed much?)  You would be lying if you tell me you’re not a Willy Wonka fan…

Why you might disagree:  In “mook” terms this movie didn’t follow the novel it was adapted from, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl, very well….  OK, so it barely followed it at all, and was more of a mash up between the two books Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator.  The 2005 Tim Burton directed “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” which starred Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka followed the book much more directly in almost every way… but I just don’t think it holds a candle to it’s predecessor.  Roald Dahl was one of my favorite childhood authors and I did love the ‘Charlie’ books.  But in my opinion, the new movie was too high-tech and flawless for me.  I prefer the original, but not I know not everyone agrees.

2 thoughts on “The Mook List – #7

  1. I love this movie I agree Gene Wilder was so much better. Don’t get me wrong I loved Johnny Depp but personally you ant beat the original. I also have read the books and remember my primary school teacher having it on vinyl and play a world of pure imagination during nap time lol. And the music was so much better in the original than the remake.

Leave a Reply

