Comic Books and Graphic Novel Mooks?

The Avengers Movie, Marvel Comics, Iron Man, Hulk, Captain America, Thor, Black Widow, Hawkeye

via IMDB.com

Happy Friday readers and followers!

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past week, you must have heard about the record-breaking film “The Avengers” which hit box offices last weekend.  The Marvel film left the existing highest-grossing films in the dust, even ousting fan-favored mook “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2” for the #1 spot.  Comic books are no stranger to the box office, with movies like “The Dark Knight” and “Transformers” topping the charts in the past decade.

I’ve never been much of a graphic novel person, having only read Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi and its succeeding film for a writing class in college.  I’ve heard of fantastic adaptations like Watchmen and V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and am somewhat familiar with the most popular comic book movies, but it had never occurred to me to approach these stories as traditional mooks.  It has been brought to my attention by a few people and I am curious – would you, my readers, be interested in this?  Take the poll below and let me know!

3 thoughts on “Comic Books and Graphic Novel Mooks?

  1. Watchmen is fantastic. The graphic novel left me gaping at my wall for about half an hour after I finished it, I couldn’t think. I have V for Vendetta, but haven’t read it. I watched the movie long before I even knew it was based on a graphic novel, though. Loved it. And with Watchmen, the film is surprisingly good. Great, in fact. I thought they would have had to compromise on a lot of things, and I wouldn’t like it as much because of it, but I’ve watched the movie some twenty times, it was that good.

    Also, have you tried Scott Pilgrim? They made a movie..last year, I think, based on the books. Both really good.

  2. I think some reviews on Graphic Novels/Movies would be interesting. There are books like Watchmen that was actually changed a fair bit to fit the film. It could also be worthwhile reading some of the books that “inspired” superhero films because you don’t get that many straight adaptations, like “The Killing Joke” book for The Dark Knight film or The Ultimates book for the new Avengers movie.

Leave a Reply

