The Mook List – #9

THE MOOK LIST – #9

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Movie Poster, David Fincer, Stieg Larsson, Rooney Mara, Lisbeth Salander

via IMDB.com

Why it worked:  This novel was made to be a movie.  It is cut-throat, riveting, and ridiculously suspenseful with amplified characters and a great story.  Larsson was immersed in the world of his writing, which made for a great film platform for David Fincher.  Because of impeccable casting and great screen writing, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” became a box office sensation.  You can read my full mook review on “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” here.

Why you might disagree:  This movie has some obvious deviations from the heavily-detailed novel (changes I thought were appropriate, but not everyone feels this way).  Some critics felt that the film was too impersonal for the viewer to connect to the characters.  Some viewers felt the very intense and violent scenes were too much for the big screen.  Additionally, some fans of the book prefer the Swedish films, however I cannot comment on this because I have not seen them.

3 thoughts on “The Mook List – #9

  1. Hmmm, I picked up the book and couldn’t get into it. Maybe I’ll have to give this a go one more time. Would it hurt if I saw the movie first then read the book?

    • A lot of people had the same problem, including myself. Once you get past the first 75-ish pages, the story starts to pick up. I say read it, even if you saw the movie, because then you can read the following 2 books (The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest)

  2. I had a really hard time getting in to the book at first, too. I found it really slow and it was so obviously written by a journalist with all of the facts and background information for the first hundred pages or so. But I did love it once the plot picked up towards the middle, and I also loved Fincher’s adaptation. The cinematography and art direction I thought were beautiful, but I also really loved the Swedish film. You should definitely see that one, too!

Leave a Reply

