The Mook List – #10

Whenever I come across a great article or list of successful mooks I make it a point to blog or tweet about it.  The best mooks out there deserve as much recognition as they can get and I often find that people don’t even realize some awesome movies were a book first.  My good friend Alex (@THE_ALEX_ROCHA) suggested I share a list of my own, considering my devotion to mooks and knowledge of many of them.  So, I am starting a series of posts called The Mook List which start at #10 and end with #1 (with maybe a few honorable mentions here and there).  Please share your feedback, as always!

THE MOOK LIST – #10

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Movie Poster, Books, Chris Columbus, Warner Brothers, JK Rowling

via IMDB.com

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Why it worked:  This is how my love of mooks began.  Sure, I had seen book-to-film adaptations before the Harry Potter franchise, but no movie ever had me stunned with its perfection.  To this day, I will argue that Sorcerer’s Stone is one of the best films of the series purely based on how true it stays to the book.  As always, there are minor changes, but this movie made Harry Potter what it is today.  Everythingthe set design, the costumes, the casting, the make upwas 100% on point and this movie represents all that a mook should be.

Why you might disagree:  Huge fans of Harry Potter tend to prefer the darker part of the series as opposed to the youthful, cheery first installments. That being said, I almost feel that as the movies went along they became more of a disappointment, while leaving Sorcerer’s Stone behind with its PG rating and 10 year old lead actors.  Some fans also hated Chris Columbus’ directing in Sorcerer’s Stone (as well as Chamber of Secrets) and may not find this movie as delightful as I did.

11 thoughts on “The Mook List – #10

  1. It was the most true to book version out of the entire series. I am interested to see about the worst books to you.

  2. Pingback: This One Goes to Eleven — 11 Questions, 11 Answers, 11 Tags « Jill Archer

    • This is a recent endeavor of mine, so I haven’t kept up with the Best Adapted Screenplay category much. Although, I will say “The Descendants” having done incredibly well this year really made me psyched to read it!

  3. I just found this blog when searching for blogs about books. I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised. I’ve had a love-hate relationship with book-to-movie adaptations for a long time. I despised Ella Enchanted’s adaptation–couldn’t even get through the whole movie it made me so angry! It was one of my favorite childhood books </3

    However, I agree with you on the Harry Potter series. Great film adaptations. While I found the first two closer to the books, I think the rest of the movies gave the series their own flavor. Though I stand staunchly by the first Dumbledore–he was EXACTLY how I pictured him from the books.

    Great post, I'll be following this blog :)

  4. Harry potter and the philosopher’s stone was definitely one great mook. While, parts 3.4.5 were not far from the book, they weren’t as perfect as the first one. Also I agree that Yates was a much better director than Columbus, not to mention more generous in spending on the sets. I also have to say that in trying to save money or God knows what, Chris Columbus completely destroyed the sixth mook. As much as i had enjoyed reading the book, the movie was very disappointing. Thankfully, the last two installments were pretty great and i think we can credit that to the fact that they, very thoughtfully, decided to make two movies instead of one.

  5. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your
    blog. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset.

    If you ever want to take some of the load
    off, I’d love too write some content for your blog in exchange forr a link back to mine.

    Please send me an email if interested. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

